Who we are

The Research Centre for Carbon Solutions (RCCS) is an interdisciplinary world leading science and engineering centre, inspiring and delivering innovation for the wider deployment of technologies needed to meet necessary carbon targets.

The centre was formerly known as Centre for Innovation in Carbon Capture and Storage (CICCS) and rebranded in April 2017 due to a growth of the centre's research porfortlio and to reflect more closely the breadth of our research activities in the whole CCUS chain, clean energy and sustainability.

Launched by Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer (FRSE, FIChemE, FRSC, FRSA) in 2008 with funding from the UK Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), the Centre has grown to encompass 35 members of staff and students, having over 400 publications on carbon mitigation. The Centre has attracted more than £17m of funding since its establishment.

Key Facts

350 sq m of several laboratories!


Prof. Mercedes Maroto-Valer

Prof Mercedes Maroto-Valer (FRSE, FIChemE, FRSC, FRSA, FEI) is Champion and Director of the UK Industrial Decarbonisation Research and Innovation Centre (IDRIC) that forms part of the UK Industrial Decarbonisation Challenge focused on accelerating the transition to net zero of industrial clusters and establishing the first world net-zero industrial cluster.

Prof Maroto-Valer is Deputy Principal (Global Sustainability) at Heriot-Watt University, leading the sustainability agenda, making a significant impact on achieving the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and working with partners to achieve global carbon reduction targets through the development of university wide initiatives (UK, Dubai and Malaysia). She is director of the Research Centre for Carbon Solutions (RCCS) at Heriot-Watt University, where she holds the Robert Buchan Chair in Sustainable Energy Engineering. RCCS is a world leading multidisciplinary centre delivering innovation for the wider deployment of low-carbon energy systems required for meeting net-zero targets. Her internationally recognised track record covers energy systems, CCUS, integration of hydrogen technologies and low carbon fuels.

Dr. Charithea Charalambous;
Dr. Callum Rae
Dr. Krystian Wlodarczyk
Dr. Lukas Küng
Dr. Manohara Gudiyor Veerabhadrappa
Dr. Ziming Yang
Dr. Dong Liu
Dr. Ben Kolosz
Dr. Ahmed Saleh
Dr. Eva Sanchez Fernande
Dr. Graeme Collie
Dr. Huizhi Wang
Dr. Ili Ramli
Dr. Jin Xuan
Dr. Junru Li
Dr. Mahmoud Nazeri
Dr. Manuela Rallo
Dr. Marco Dri
Dr. Nazia Farooqui
Dr. Muhammad Farooq
Dr. Oluwafunmilola Ola
Dr. Patricia Córdoba
Dr. Qi Liu
Dr. Tevfik Aysu
Dr. Theodoros Chronopoulos
Dr. Xiaolong Wang
Elizabeth Bay (PhD)
Luc T Steel (PhD)
Meltiani Belekoukia (PhD)
Michael O Ogidi (PhD)
Mohammed Arshad (PhD)
Montserrat Recasens (PhD)
Muhammad Imran Masood (PhD)
Xiaojiao Luo (PhD)
Warren Thompson (PhD)