Industrial Carbon Capture First Advisory Board Meeting

From Left to Right: Professor MeiHong Wang(UoS), Li Anne Cheah(HWU), Professor Dag Eimer (University College Southeast Norway). Dr. Susana Garcia(HWU), Vin White(Air Products), Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer(HWU), Jonathan Mcdonough(NU), David Reay(NU), Manohara Gudiyor Veerabhadrappa(HWU), Vladimir Zivkovic(NU), Matthew Aneke(UoS), Alastair Clark(MCM Environmental Services Ltd.), Professor Graeme White(HWU), Dylan Vennin(HWU), Samuel Goodman(HWU), Abdulaziz Ehtaiba(HWU) and Benedict Lavin(HWU). 

Academic and industrial partners gathered at Heriot-Watt University on 1st June 2018 for the first Advisory Board meeting. Our academic partners, Newcastle University and the University of Sheffield, and advisory board members from Air Products, Osprey Ltd., MCM Environmental Services Ltd and University College Southeast Norway attended the meeting.

The meeting started with an introduction to the ICCS project from Project Principal Investigator – Prof. Mercedes Maroto-Valer and followed by presentations from work package leaders, setting out the progress of the project and ground-breaking findings discovered within. Stimulating technical discussions followed the presentations from all three universities on their recent progress in the molecular modelling, novel sorbent developed for CO2 capture, process intensification, and waste heat integration in industrial processes. Very fruitful inputs and feedback were received from the industrial partners. The meeting ended with a tour of the RCCS laboratories.

For more information about the project, please visit the following pages:

RCCS Website – Novel adsorbents applied to integrated energy-efficient industrial CO2 Capture

EPSRC website –